Affiliate disclosure: we may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Read how this works

Our data

Why Do So Many Ebooks Hide Their Page Count?

771 of the 869 offers where we recorded a length say it is not stated. Offers that do state pages score higher. Here is how to judge value without a number.

Why Do So Many Ebooks Hide Their Page Count?

Why do so many ebooks hide their page count?

We cannot see sellers' motives, only the pages. The data shows that most ebook listings follow a template that names chapters and benefits but never gives a length.

In 253 of the 771 hiding listings the sales page does list chapters, so the seller clearly knew the structure and left the size out. Another 530 of the 771 are sold as an ebook or PDF, where a page count is the simplest size figure there is. The pattern fits stock sales copy more than a deliberate trick, and we do not claim to know which it is in any single case.

What we can say is what the buyer faces. A price with no length is a price you cannot sanity-check. A $37 ebook might be a 150-page manual or a 20-page checklist, and the order form will charge the same either way. Our verdict guide explains why offer clarity and value for money carry weight in every score.

How common is a hidden page count?

Very. As of October 2026, 771 of 869 offers with a Length field say the length is not stated, 25 give a page count, 61 give another unit, and 12 do not apply.

We read the Length field of every review in the catalog of 1920 offers. 869 of them have one; the rest are courses, software or supplements where a length makes no sense or was not recorded. We sorted the 869 by what the field says.

The 61 in the middle give a different unit, such as a number of recipes, worksheets or minutes. That is better than nothing, though a count of recipes does not tell you how long the explanations are. The biggest groups of hiders are in make money online with 251 listings and health and fitness with 175.

Length field in our catalog, October 2026

  • Length not stated or no page count: 771 offers (89% of 869)
  • Page count given: 25 offers (3%)
  • Another unit such as recipes, worksheets or minutes: 61 offers (7%)
  • Not applicable: 12 offers (1%)

Does a missing page count affect the score?

Yes, in our data. The 771 hiding offers have a median score of 6.2, the 25 with a page count have 6.9, and the hiders have far fewer Worth it verdicts.

Of the 771 that hide the length, 28 earned Worth it (3.6%), 498 Worth a look and 245 Pass (31.8%). Of the 25 that give pages, 12 earned Worth it (48%), 12 Worth a look and 1 Pass. The average offer clarity subscore is 5.5 for hiders and 7.5 for the others; value for money is 4.3 against 6.5.

Read that carefully. Only 25 offers state pages, so the second group is small. A missing page count does not make an offer worse by itself. Sellers who describe their product in detail tend to state the size too, and our scoring rewards that detail. The page count is a sign of a seller who explains things, not a magic number. The full scoring method is on our methodology page.

What do offers with and without a page count look like?

The difference shows in the details. Twenty Minutes Dead states 102 pages and offers a free preview; Thriving in Turbulent Times charges $69.99 for an ebook of undisclosed length.

Offers mentioned in this section
ProductCategoryOffer scorePriceBillingVerdict
Thriving in Turbulent Times Politics & Economics 5.9/10 $69.99 One-time payment Pass
The Ultimate Energizer Guide Survival 5.1/10 $49 One-time payment Pass
Twenty Minutes Dead Spirituality 7.7/10 $15 One-time payment Worth it
24 Menus from Madeira: A Culinary Journey with 72 Recipes Cooking 8.3/10 EUR 19.80 One-time payment Worth it
The Muscle Building Blueprint - Complete Package Health & Fitness 7.8/10 EUR 29.90 One-time payment Worth it
Youthpreneur: Escape the Matrix and Make Your Choice Make Money Online 6.4/10 $9.99 One-time payment Worth a look

Thriving in Turbulent Times costs $69.99 and lists an introduction plus four chapters. Our review records the length as not disclosed anywhere on the sales page or checkout, and the author is not named. It is a Pass at 5.9. The Ultimate Energizer Guide is a $49 PDF with length not stated by the seller, and also a Pass.

The other side: Twenty Minutes Dead is a 102-page PDF at $15 with a free preview of the prologue and four chapters. 24 Menus from Madeira states 265 pages and shows ten sample pages for EUR 19.80. The Muscle Building Blueprint lists 145 pages across the package for EUR 29.90, and Youthpreneur: Escape the Matrix lists 60 pages for $9.99.

Is a hidden length ever the only problem?

Rarely. In the offers that hide their length, it usually comes with other gaps such as no named author, no sample or a refund window that differs between page and form.

Weight Loss Program (Pagewheel download) is an EUR 11 download with no description of the program, no author and no length, and its page promises 60 days of refund where the form grants 14. Divine Invocation Code gives no format or length for the invocation or its two bonuses. Both are Pass.

There are exceptions. Plant Technician Field Kit does not state a file or page count, but it lists its contents by name, and it earned Worth it at 7.9 with a 60-day refund. A hidden length is a reason to look harder, not an automatic no.

How can you estimate an ebook's value without a page count?

Look for substitutes: a named chapter list, a free sample, a stated author, a refund window on the order form and a price you can compare with similar offers.

A page count is a shortcut, so replace it with other evidence. When a number exists, price per page is only a rough yardstick. Twenty Minutes Dead works out to about 15 cents a page, 24 Menus from Madeira to about 7 cents and Youthpreneur to about 17 cents. Those figures say nothing about quality, and they cannot be computed at all for a hidden length.

Our guide to comparing two similar offers shows how to line up price, content and terms side by side. For ebooks written from a template, see AI-generated ebooks.

What can stand in for a page count

  • A chapter list with a short description of each chapter, not slogans
  • A free preview or sample pages, as Twenty Minutes Dead and 24 Menus from Madeira offer
  • A named author with a way to contact them
  • A bonus list that states what each bonus contains
  • A refund window on the order form, not only on the sales page

What should you do before buying an ebook with no stated length?

Check the order form, ask the seller, compare the price with similar offers and note the refund deadline. If none of that gives a size, treat the price as unverified.

Before you pay

  1. Search the sales page and the order form for 'pages', 'chapters' and 'sample'.
  2. Look for a free preview. If there is none, weigh that against the price.
  3. Check who sells it; our guide to who actually sells it shows how.
  4. Compare the price with a similar offer that does state its size.
  5. Write down the refund deadline from the order form, since that is your real safety net.
  6. If the length is still missing and the price is more than a few dollars, skip it or buy only with a clear refund window.

Run through these steps in order. They take a few minutes and cost nothing.

Frequently asked questions

Is it a red flag when an ebook does not list its page count?

It is a warning sign, not proof. In our data, offers that state no length score lower on average (median 6.2 against 6.9), but some, like the Plant Technician Field Kit, still earned Worth it.

How many pages should a $37 ebook have?

There is no fixed number. In our catalog the stated page counts range from 8 pages to a claimed 3,000-plus, so price alone does not predict size. Check chapters, a sample and the refund window instead.

Do page counts tell you whether an ebook is good?

No. A page count tells you size, not quality. It still helps because it lets you compare price against size and shows the seller is willing to be specific.

Can I ask the seller for the page count before I buy?

You can try the contact details on the sales page or the order confirmation page. Many sellers in our catalog give no contact beyond an account name, which is itself worth noting.

What if I buy and the ebook is much thinner than expected?

Use the refund window shown on the order form. Most offers we reviewed show 60 days, but some give 14, so check the form before you pay.

More from our sister sites

Related reading on other independent sites we publish. Each one has its own editors and its own catalog.

Worthorpass publishes offer reviews, not hands-on product tests. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on our review pages; it never changes a score. Nothing here is financial, medical or legal advice.

Keep reading

More buyer guides

All guides